Coventry Liberal Democrats campaign for European Elections 2019

May 17, 2019 7:55 AM

Over the month of May, Coventry Liberal Democrats have been out canvassing with key West Midlands Liberal Democrat candidates for the European Elections 2019.

Coventry Lib Dems canvassing and leafleting with Phil Bennion

This included Former County and West Midlands Lib Dem MEP Phil Bennion (pictured furthest right above). Phillip was MEP for the West Midlands from 2012-14 and played a leading role in introducing tougher safety standards for lorries following concerns about safety of cyclists and pedestrians. He was described as "someone to be reckoned with in the European Parliament" by President of the European Liberals Hans van Baalen MEP. He was also instrumental in blocking some misguided employment legislation working with Lib Dem MP Jo Swinson, who was the UK minister sitting on the Employment Council at that time. Before he was an MEP he orchestrated the successful campaign to introduce environmental criteria for biomass to prevent virgin forest qualifying as renewable energy.

Cov Lib Dems Leafletting in Earlsdon

Similarly, Solihull Councillor Ade Adeyemo (pictured in centre above) joined us to canvass and leaflet in Earlsdon. As well as being a Councillor on Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council, Ade stood as Parliamentary Candidate for the Meriden and Solihull constituencies in 2015 and 2017 respectively. He is a well-known Activist and Campaigner who has decided to stand for election to the European Parliament because he feels that the people of the West Midlands are crying out for change, for something different - a positive voice - someone who represents their values, their aims and their aspirations in life.

Reception on the doorstep has been incredibly positive and in the final week of campaiging we will be holding a City Centre stall, leafleting and intend to hold a rally in the final days running up the election. The full list of 7 candidates for the EU Parliament elections on the 23rd May 2019 are:

1. Phillip Bennion
2. Ade N. Adeyemo
3. Jeanie Falconer
4. Jenny Wilkinson
5. Jennifer Gray
6. Beverley Nielsen
7. Lee Dargue

More information on these candidates can be found here.