Liberal Democrat Leadership Election 2019

June 11, 2019 10:42 PM
By Atinuke Proctor

Leadership Election 2019

On the 24th May 2019, Sir Vince Cable announced his intention to stand down as Leader of the Liberal Democrats, formally starting the Liberal Democrat Leadership election.

Nominations for the position of Leader closed on 7th June, with Jo Swinson (MP for East Dunbartonshire, Deputy Leader and Foreign Affairs Spokesperson) and Ed Davey (MP for Kingston and Surbiton, and Home Affairs Spokesperson) formally confirmed as the two potential candidates for the position.

For new members who have joined as part of the Lib Dem Surge, all members registered by 23:59 on the 7th June 2019 will have the ability to vote, as per the Liberal Democrat: One member, One vote system. Presently, a series of Hustings are now taking place across the country, providing members with the opportunity to hear from both candidates.

For our local members, the West Midlands Hustings event will take place at Stratford Upon Avon School at 3pm on Saturday 29th June. Details for the event can be found here and details of all Hustings can be found at

The West Midlands Hustings will be the last in the series, initiating the dispatch of paper ballot papers and online ballot papers are scheduled to be available from the 1st July. At this stage, members will have until 3pm 23rd July to ensure they have voted for their preferred candidate.

After this time, the vote will close and a ballot verification and count will occur to determine the result. Once concluded, there will be a declaration of the winning candidate and the next phase in the leadership of the Liberal Democrat Party will commence.